Welcome Music Lovers!

20 05 2008

Welcome Teachers!

If you are interested in using or teaching Music Technology in the classroom please drop me a line.  I would love to here from you.  If you would like to check my homepage sites please go to musictechforteachers.com and yismusic.net

I hope you find something of interest.

Cheers,

Brad Johnston

Percussionist/Composer

Teacher of Music & Media Technology and IB Music

Yokohama International School, Japan

Actions

Information

5 responses

13 01 2009
Raymond Rust

Hello Mr. Johnston.

I am a music teacher in Apple Valley, CA. I currently have one Music Technology class. I use a program called Reason. Have you heard of this program? What kind of classes do you teach that integrate technology?

13 01 2009
johnstonb

I teach music tech to grades 6-9, media tech to gr. 10, and IB music to 11-12 at an International school in Yokohama, Japan. I am using Apples GarageBand and iLife suite for most of what I do but I am adding Sibelius shortly. I have heard of Reason but do not use it myself. I use GarageBand to teach students how to record music, compose, understand music form, notation, writing, melody, harmony, cadences etc. Almost all music theory can be supported. I also use a couple of free online theory software sites that a good for the students to practice the basics and test themselves. My IB students all use it to compose their compositions. Grade 10 Media produces short film projects that feature different aspects of our school. Maybe we can swap some ideas.

Brad Johnston

18 02 2009
Brad Johnston

Hi Raymond,
How are you making out with your recording software? Did you find the online theory?

20 01 2009
Raymond Rust

I am very open to the idea os swapping ideas. I am always looking for new ways to get my students interested and/or focused on music. I am just getting into Reason. My school bought it late last year with the hopes of creating a music lab. We have done that, but learning Reason has been a long process. I am still trying to work out the bugs. This summer, I am planning on spending a lot of time writing a curriculum for my students to use.
I have heard about GarageBand. Is it available for PC? I would be interested in getting the titles of the free theory sites you use. Now that I have the computers set up, I want to use more online stuff to reinforce what my students are being taught.
My school’s computer teacher just borrowed a CD from my Music Production class to use for her classes’ PowerPoint projects. If I get anything back I will shoot a couple of examples over to you. I would be interested to see some examples of your Media projects.

2 03 2009
Raymond Rust

Hi Brad,

I have been spending a lot of time with my Master’s class. I haven’t had much time to work on my recording stuff. I haven’t even had the chance to look up any theory programs yet. I’m hoping to get some time soon. Things have been really crazy.

Leave a Reply

