Changing from iWeb to Sandvox

6 08 2011

With Apple discontinuing their Apple iWeb software and hosting on me.com I was looking for another replacement. There really isn’t much to choose from but there is one that I came across called Sandvox by Karelia, that allows posting without using an ftp client app like Fetch or FileZilla.

I still miss iWeb as Sandvox has less options included in the basic software (however you can buy plugins which would make it a little better), yet it is still far behind iWeb. However, it is by far the best app I could find. Adobe is probably better as it is the pro application, however I tried the trial and found the interface really clunky in design. So much so that I gave up after about 30 minutes.

I will definitely miss iWeb. I loved the ability to customize the site. Especially using a picture as a background for a page or set the color of the bachground. With Sandvox you cannot do either.

I also liked that fact that I could password protect my site when I have protected files that I only want to share with my students and not everyone on the internet.


Sandvox also links with A2Hosting for a quick and easy setup. When stumped filling in the necessary data in Sandvox’s setup window I just asked for online help and they came back within a few hours with the necessary fix. It is also offered at a competitive price.

I would also like to mention how helpful and timely A2Hosting was with their help information while I was getting set up. They always supplied me with solutions to my problems within hours of a request. Excellent service.

Check them out online and see what you think. Here is a Sandvox “Electronic Referral Kit” for your pleasure http://c.karelia.com/178

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

